Chris Packham to host RSPB’s Nature of Scotland Awards

Chris Packham will be hosting this year's Nature of Scotland Awards. Photo courtesy of RSPB Scotland.
Chris Packham will be hosting this year's Nature of Scotland Awards. Photo courtesy of RSPB Scotland.

Naturalist, conservationist and TV presenter – and Hen Harrier champion – Chris Packham will be this year’s host for the Nature of Scotland Awards ceremony in November, RSPB Scotland has announced.

The finalists were announced at a reception in the Scottish Parliament on 12 August, with Red Squirrels, Puffins, river regeneration and rare plants among the projects to make the cut. The event was hosted by Claudia Beamish MSP.

The judges were overwhelmed by the huge range of nominations across the length and breadth of the country, RSPB Scotland said. After tough deliberations, however, a shortlist of entries was identified, each of which will now be in the running to take home one of eight top prizes. The shortlist represents a cross section of businesses, charities, the public sector and individuals working toward conserving the country’s unique wildlife and natural environment.

Winners will be announced at a special a black tie gala at the Sheraton Grand Hotel, Edinburgh, on 20 November. Chris Packham said: “I am absolutely delighted to be hosting the RSPB’s Nature of Scotland Awards this year. Scotland is home to a fantastic wealth of wildlife and habitats that we need to invest our time and energy in for future generations.

“That’s why it’s so encouraging to see such a wide range of projects being shortlisted for an award this year, from people who are truly passionate about conserving nature. The judges are going to have a tough time picking out the eventual winners but I look forward to being there to congratulate them on their achievement in November.”

Click here to see the shortlist in full.


Red Squirrel
The Return of Aberdeen's Red Squirrels project is up for the RSPB Species Champion Award.
Photo courtesy of RSPB Scotland.

The shortlist in full

Marine Conservation Award

• COAST – Community Of Arran Seabed Trust
• Flip Flap Netting Grid
• Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust
• Heriot-Watt Scientific Dive Team – Scottish Biogenic Reef Research
• The Restoration and Sustainable Management of the Loch Ryan Oyster Fishery

Sustainable Development Award

• Carse of Stirling Ecosystems Approach Demonstration Project
• Glenlivet Mountain Bike Centre
• Moray Offshore Renewables Limited
• Scottish Windfarm Bird Steering Group
• SNH guidance on the development of Renewable Energy
• Volunteer River Regeneration Project

Politician of the Year Award

• Claire Baker MSP
• Claudia Beamish MSP
• Mary Scanlon MSP
• Paul Wheelhouse MSP
• Willie Rennie MSP

Innovation Award

• Flip Flap Netting Grid
• Larbert Woods Hospital Grounds Greenspace Project – Forth Valley Royal Hospital
• Mull Eagle Watch
• Native Woodland Survey of Scotland
• Species Champion

Outstanding Contribution Award

• Professor Paul Thompson
• SOS Puffin

RSPB Species Champion Award

• Cairngorms Rare Plants Project
• Glen Dochart Waders Project
• Mollusc of the Glen
• The Return of Aberdeen’s Red Squirrels

Community Initiative Award

• Portlethen Community Woodland
• The Green Team
• Volunteer River Regeneration Project
• Woodside Wildlife Garden

Youth and Education Award

• John Muir Trust – celebrating Muir
• Lie of the Land
• Portlethen Community Woodland
• The Green Team

Written by: Birdwatch news team